Today: 20th Wed, Oct 2021
This is the first and only information based web sites of Bangladesh Nirbachon    
Election Arcive
Hot Links
Overview of Bangladesh

Official Name: Gônoprojatontri Bangladesh -> People's Republic of Bangladesh


Flag of Bangladesh
BD Flag
Coat of arms of Bangladesh
Coat of arms
Anthem:    Amar Shonar Bangla  ("My Golden Bengal")
Capital:    Dhaka (23°42'N 90°22'E)
Official language:    Bangla (Bengali)
Independence:    From Pakistan-> Declared(March 26, 1971)   Victory Day(December 16, 1971)

Government:   Parliamentary republic
Size proportions:   Size in area:144,000 km² , land size: 133,910 km², water: 10,090  km²
Currency:    Taka (BDT) Inter. Calling Code:   +880
Time zone:    BDT (UTC+6), - Summer (DST), not observed (UTC+6)
Internet TLD:    .bd Language(s):    Bangla (official) & English
Education:    Attendance>--55.9%. Literacy--53.9% for males; 31.8% for females; a total of 43.1% literacy.

National symbols of Bangladesh
Anthem    Amar Shonar Bangla Bird    Doyel
Animal    Royal Bengal Tiger Fish    Hilsa
Flower    Shapla Fruit    Jackfruit
Sport    Kabadi Calendar    Bangla calendar

was liberated on December 16, 1971 through a bloody war fought against the Pakistan Army following its crackdown on the unarmed people of Bangladesh on the midnight of March 25, 1971. The country was, then being rocked by a movement for restoration of democracy in the midst of a constitutional crisis following the general elections Born in battle the heroic people's epic will always remain a source of inspiration to the nation.


The People's Republic of Bangladesh is a South Asian country bordering India , Myanmar and the Bay of Bengal. Together with the West Bengal state of India, it comprises the ethno-linguistic region of Bengal. The name Bangladesh is written as pronounced IPA: /'ba?lad?e?/. It means "Country of Bengal" but the origin of the word Bangla (Bengal) is obscure.


Remnants of civilization in the greater Bengal region date back four millennia when the region was settled by Dravidians and Tibeto-Burmans. It was mostly fractured into unaffiliated units, ruled by foreign and domestic kingdoms and empires. After the arrival of Indo-Aryans, Bengal was ruled by the Gupta Empire from the fourth to the sixth centuries CE. Then, a dynamic Bengali, Shashanka founded an impressive yet short-lived kingdom. After a period of anarchy, the Buddhist Pala dynasty ruled the region for four hundred years, followed by a shorter reign of the Hindu Sena dynasty. Islam was introduced to Bengal in the twelfth century by Sufi missionaries, and subsequent Muslim conquests helped spread Islam throughout the region. Bakhtiar Khilji, a Turkish general, defeated Lakshman Sen of the Sena dynasty and conquered large parts of Bengal. The region was ruled by dynasties of Sultans and feudal lords for the next few hundred years. By the sixteenth century, the Mughal Empire controlled Bengal and Dhaka became an important provincial center of Mughal administration.

The Shaheed Minar, which commemorates the Language Movement, is a well known landmark in Bangladesh
The Shaheed Minar, which commemorates the Language Movement, is a well known landmark in Bangladesh

European traders arrived late in the 15th century and their influence grew until the British East India Company gained control of Bengal following the Battle of Plassey in 1757.The bloody rebellion of 1857, known as the Sepoy Mutiny, resulted in transfer of authority to the crown, with a British viceroy running the administration. During the colonial rule famine racked the Indian subcontinent many times, including the Great Bengal Famine that claimed 3 million lives. Between 1905 and 1911, an abortive attempt was made to divide the province of Bengal into two zones, with Dhaka being the capital of the eastern zone. When India was partitioned in 1947, Bengal was partitioned along religious lines, the western part going to India, while the eastern part joined Pakistan as a province called East Bengal (later renamed East Pakistan), with its capital at Dhaka. In 1950, land reform was accomplished in East Bengal by abolishing the feudal zamindari system. However, despite the economic and demographic weight of the east, Pakistan's government and military were largely dominated by the upper classes from the west. The Language Movement of 1952 was the first sign of friction between the two wings of Pakistan. Dissatisfaction with the central government over economic and cultural issues continued to rise through the next decade, during which Awami League emerged as the political mouthpiece of the Bengali population. It agitated for autonomy in the 1960s, and in 1966, its president Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was jailed; he was released in 1969 after an unprecedented popular uprising.

In 1970, a massive cyclone devastated coastal East Pakistan and the central government responded poorly. The anger was compounded when Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, whose Awami League won a majority in Parliament in the 1970 elections,was blocked from taking office. After staging compromise talks with Mujib, President Yahya Khan arrested him on the night of March 25, 1971, and launched Operation Searchlight, a sustained military assault on East Pakistan. Yahya's methods were extremely bloody, and the violence of the war resulted in large scale civilian deaths. Chief targets included intellectuals and Hindus. About ten million refugees fled to neighbouring India. Estimates of those massacred range from several hundred thousand to 3 million.Most of the Awami League leaders fled and set up a government-in-exile in Calcutta, India. The Bangladesh Liberation War lasted for 9 months. The guerrilla Mukti Bahini and Bengali regulars eventually received support from the Indian Armed Forces in December 1971. Under the command of Lt. General J.S. Arora, the Indian Army achieved a decisive victory over Pakistan on 16 December 1971, taking over 90,000 prisoners of war in the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971.

After independence, Bangladesh became a parliamentary democracy, with Mujib as the Prime Minister. In the 1973 parliamentary elections, Awami League gained an absolute majority. A nationwide famine occurred during 1973 and 1974,and in early 1975, Mujib initiated one party socialist rule with his newly formed BAKSAL. On August 15, 1975, Mujib and his family were assassinated by mid-level military officers. A series of bloody coups and counter-coups in the following three months culminated in the ascent to power of General Ziaur Rahman, who reinstated multi-party politics, and founded Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP). Zia's rule ended when he was assassinated in 1981 by elements of the military. Bangladesh's next major ruler was General Hossain Mohammad Ershad who gained power in a bloodless coup in 1982 and ruled until 1990, when he was ousted in a popular uprising. Since then, Bangladesh has reverted to parliamentary democracy. Zia's widow Khaleda Zia, led the BNP to parliamentary victories in 1991 and 2001 and was Prime Minister from 1991 to 1996 and again from 2001 to date. She and Sheikh Hasina, one of Mujib's surviving daughters who heads the Awami League and was in power from 1996 to 2001, maintain a unfriendly rivalry between them. In spite of widespread poverty and corruption, Bangladesh remains a democracy to date.


Powered By: